Staten Island, Tioga, Monroe, and Queens chapters hold conventions

Recently, four LPNY chapters held their annual conventions.

On March 18, the Staten Island Libertarian Party held their annual convention. The slate of officers elected were Richard Bell as Chair, Rocco Fama reelected Vice Chair, Susan Overeem elected Treasurer, and Debra Altman elected Secretary. “First allow me to congratulate our friends in liberty voted to these SILP positions,” said Bell on Facebook. “Thank you for joining in our necessary struggle to maintain individual liberty and constitutionally limited federal, state and city governments. Lastly, allow me to thank outgoing Chairman of the SILP, Hesham El-Meligy, for his steady leadership over the past two years.”

On March 20, the Tioga County Libertarian Party held their second annual convention. Melvin Foster was elected Chair, Sara Price was elected Vice Chair, Rich Purtell reelected Secretary, Keith Price elected Treasurer, and Tami Bogausch elected Officer At-Large. Additionally, the chapter endorsed Keith Price for State Assembly District 124.

On March 24, the Monroe County Libertarian Party held their convention at noon at Romig’s Tavern. All officers were reelected: Kevin Wilson for a second term as Chair, Tony D’Orazio for a second term as Vice Chair, Jarrod Thuman for a third term as Secretary, Jack Terran for a third term as Treasurer, and Sean Phelan for a second term as State Representative. The chapter also endorsed Larry Sharpe for Governor of New York.

On March 24, the Libertarian Party of Queens County held their convention. Christopher Padilla was reelected Chair, Kenneth Mulvena elected Vice Chair and Secretary, Kenneth Lee elected Treasurer, and Aaron Commey elected State Representative. The chapter also endorsed Eric Butkiewicz for State Senate District 15. Recently, the chapter made the following appointments: William H. Horowitz as Parliamentarian, Cody T. Persaud as Deputy Parliamentarian, Kent Doren as Political Director, Kenneth Lee as Deputy Political Director, Usman Ali Chohan as Petitioning Coordinator, Michael Civita as Administrative Director, Boyuan Zhang as Deputy Administrative Director, Simon Lee as Communications Director, and Elliot Axelman as Deputy Communications Director.

Upcoming chapter conventions include Capital District (May 8), Erie (tentatively April 14), Genesee (June 4), Livingston (June 16), Manhattan (tentatively May 8), and Onondaga (April 8). Conventions for Chautauqua, Nassau, Suffolk, Warren, and Westchester chapters have yet to be announced. Brooklyn and Steuben chapters have already held their conventions earlier this year.

Scroll to Top