In 2018, the Libertarian Party reached the threshold to become an officially recognized party in New York State. The party is led by an Interim State Committee pending party elections in 2020 among enrolled Libertarians. Before official status, the Libertarian Party was constituted as a corporation. During this period of transition, the legacy corporation continues to operate under its bylaws. The functions are as follows, and the leadership is listed below.

  • State Committee of the LPNY – This body is tasked with overseeing the party structure and a majority of resources, along with management of communications, outreach, and finance.
  • Interim State Committee (ISC) – This body is tasked with the electoral functions of the political party, including vetting and certifying candidates for office.

State Committee of the LPNY

The State Committee, since 1973, is elected annually according to the bylaws.

Chair Mark Glogowski mglogowski08@gmail.com
Vice Chair Kari Bittner kbittner@lpny.org
Vice Chair
Jeff Motta jmotta@lpny.org
Secretary Bill Schmidt councilmanschmidt@gmail.com
Treasurer
Duane Whitmer djwtax@yahoo.com
At-Large Committee Member Steve Minogue sminogue@lpny.org
At-Large Committee Member
Paul Grindle pgrindle@lpny.org
At-Large Committee Member Michael McDermott msmwizard@aol.com
At-Large Committee Member Christopher Olenski christopher.olenski@larrysharpe.com
At-Large Committee Member
Chase Tkach chasetkach@gmail.com
Immediate Past Chair Jim Rosenbeck jrosenbeck@lpny.org
Brooklyn Chapter Representative Gary Popkin garypopkin@yahoo.com
Cattaraugus Chapter Representative Peyton Kunselman pdk1750@rit.edu
Capital Chapter Representative
Fred Cole fcole1017@gmail.com
Chautauqua Chapter Representative Andrew Kolstee akolstee@lpny.org
Erie Chapter Representative Edward Garrett egarrett@lpny.org
Genesee Chapter Representative Colin McAllister colin_elba@hotmail.com
Hudson Valley Chapter Representative Jan-Erik Janson jejanson@lpny.org
Manhattan Chapter Representative Ilya Schwartzburg ischwartzburg@lpny.org
Monroe Chapter Representative Sean Phelan seanphelan@juno.com
Nassau Chapter Representative Blay Tarnoff LPNY@eblay.com
Onondaga Chapter Representative Millie Dordal mdforliberty@gmail.com
Queens Chapter Representative Aaron Commey acommey678@gmail.com
Schoharie Chapter Representative Lora Newell LoraNewell@hotmail.com
Staten Island Chapter Representative
 Richard Bell swim4home@verizon.net 
Steuben Chapter Representative Peter Olausson polausson@lpny.org
Suffolk Chapter Representative Jim Harris JimLPHarris@optonline.net
Tioga Chapter Representative Rich Purtell rpurtell@lpny.org
Westchester Chapter Representative Mark Rosen mlrosen70@gmail.com

To get in touch with other members of a chapter, whether an official one or a fledgling group, please see our chapter meetings page.

Interim State Committee

The Interim State Committee was formed in February 2019, and consists of the following:

Chair Jim Rosenbeck jrosenbeck@lpny.org
Vice Chair Tony D’Orazio apostrophe3@gmail.com
Vice Chair
Tucker Coburn tcoburn@lpny.org
Secretary Fred Cole fcole1017@gmail.com
Treasurer
Cruger Gallaudet cgallaudet@lpny.org
Member Michael Arcati
Member Alyce Auman
Member Steve Becker
Member Richard Bell
Member Millie Dordal
Member Mark Glogowski
Member Todd Haggarty
Member Jim Harris
Member Andrew Hollister
Member Jason Loveland
Member Mike McDermott
Member Steve Minogue
Member Jeff Motta
Member Gary Popkin
Member Mark Potwora
Member Ilya Schwartzburg

Chapter/County Leaders

Brooklyn Chair Devin Balkind devin@devinbalkind.com
Cattaraugus Chair Luke Wenke lukewenke@yahoo.com
Capital District Chair
 Charles Senrick
*Chautauqua Chair Andrew Kolstee akolstee@lpny.org
*Erie Chair Edward Garrett j4garr@yahoo.com
Genesee Chair Mark Potwora markwora@gmail.com
Hudson Valley Chair Gary Triestman garyonthenet@gmail.com
Manhattan Chair Aaron Commey acommey678@gmail.com
*Monroe Chair Kevin Wilson kevinwilson12@gmail.com
Nassau Chair Blay Tarnoff lpny@eblay.com
**Niagara ICO Chair Charlie Flynn Cflynn5@Roadrunner.com
Onondaga Chair
Shawn Hannon hannon.shawn@gmail.com
Queens Chair Michael Arcati
Schoharie Chair Lora Newell LoraNewell@hotmail.com
Staten Island Chair
 Richard Bell swim4home@verizon.net
Steuben Chair Peter Olausson polausson@lpny.org
*Suffolk Chair Mike McDermott msmwizard@aol.com
Tioga Chair Melvin Foster candorite@gmail.com
Westchester Chair Mark Rosen mlrosen70@gmail.com

*Chautauqua, Erie, Monroe, and Suffolk County are also Interim County Organizations under the new party, with the same leadership.
**Niagara County is an Interim County Organization under the new party.

Temporary County Chairs

Temporary County Chairs are those officials designated to act as the point person for forming a county organization.

*Albany County Temporary Chair Veronica Diver
Chenango County Temporary Chair Clarence LaBarr calaparr@yahoo.com
*Columbia County Temporary Chair Cody Anderson
Cortland County Temporary Chair Matthew McIntyre matthew.k.mcintyre@gmail.com
Franklin County Temporary Chair Mandy Atkinson atkinsonmandy08@gmail.com
Fulton County Temporary Chair 
Brandon Lyon lyonbra@gmail.com
Madison County Temporary Chair Mark Braiman mbraiman@lpny.org
Niagara County Temporary Chair
Charlie Flynn Cflynn5@Roadrunner.com
Oneida County Temporary Chair
Craig Miles craig.miles@larrysharpe.com
Ontario County Temporary Chair
Kari Bittner kbittner@rochester.rr.com
Otsego County Temporary Chair Jason Loveland jasonloveland1@gmail.com
*Rensselaer County Temporary Chair Phil Vecchio
Saratoga County Temporary Chair
Rob Arrigo Robarrigo80@gmail.com
*Schenectady County Temporary Chair Fred Cole 
St. Lawrence County Temporary Chair
 Mark Deon deonml195@potsdam.edu
Washington County Temporary Chair
 Dave Boddery daveboddery1972@gmail.com
Wayne County Temporary Chair
Jim Dayton jdayton@lpny.org
Wyoming County Temporary Chair Jim Wanke Jwanke@rochester.rr.com

If you wish to be appointed or to nominate someone as temporary county chair for your non-represented county (a non-voting but important position), please contact one of the members of the State Committee. Here is information about starting a new local Libertarian group in NY. 

*denotes appointees by the Interim State Committee

Appointed, non-voting positions

The following are appointed positions by the State Committee. They do not have a vote, except for those that also hold a position as an officer or representative.

Parliamentarian  M Carling mcarling@gmail.com
Administrative Director Jim Rosenbeck jrosenbeck@lpny.org
Communications Director Andrew Kolstee akolstee@lpny.org
Deputy Communications Director Steve Minogue sminogue@lpny.org
Press Secretary Vacant
Newsletter Editor Fred Cole fcole1017@gmail.com
Social Media Coordinator Maura Botsford mbotsford@lpny.org
Political Director
Rich Purtell rpurtell@lpny.org
Outreach Director Vacant
Finance Director Anthony Pellegrino anthonypellegrino@lpny.org